Updating DACL Failed

Posted on April 28, 2016 by Synergis Product Support Manager, Darin Green

With the new release of the Autodesk Products and the updated version of License Manager Utility 11.13.1.2 users are getting a notification regarding their DACL Failed.

This message is only a notification but it should not affect the Autodesk licensing distribution.

Updating DACL Failed

DACL

 

The error is referring to Trusted Storage “TS” as indicated in the message which Autodesk doesn’t use. Again, this message is meaningless for your Autodesk products. However, If you’re also hosting other vendor licenses you should investigate further to make sure they’ll work as expected or contact the vendor for clarification. As a workaround in this case, you can downgrade to the previous version of LMTOOLS

For more information about Discretionary Access Control List (DACL) use the following link:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa374872(v=vs.85).aspx

A discretionary access control list (DACL) identifies the trustees that are allowed or denied access to a securable object. When a process tries to access a securable object, the system checks the ACEs in the object’s DACL to determine whether to grant access to it. If the object does not have a DACL, the system grants full access to everyone. If the object’s DACL has no ACEs, the system denies all attempts to access the object because the DACL does not allow any access rights. The system checks the ACEs in sequence until it finds one or more ACEs that allow all the requested access rights, or until any of the requested access rights are denied. For more information, see How DACLs Control Access to an Object. For information about how to properly create a DACL, see Creating a DACL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s